Board of Education

Board of Education WebPage Header that contains picture of all board members

Board of Education Members

For general inquiries and to reach the entire Troy Board of Education, please email troyboard@troy.k12.mi.us. Your message will be shared with the entire Board and they will designate an appropriate staff member to respond to your questions and comments as quickly as possible.

Meet the Troy Board of Education - Biographies

BoardBios2019
First page of the PDF file: Boardbios2019

BOE Contact Information

For general inquiries and to reach the entire Troy Board of Education, please email troy.board@troy.k12.mi.us. Your message will be shared with the entire Board and they will designate an appropriate staff member to respond to your questions and comments as quickly as possible. If you need to reach an individual Trustee, please use the following email addresses:

  • Board President 
    • Karl Schmidt: kschmidt@troy.k12.mi.us or 586.850.7906
  • Board Vice President 
    • Dr. Nancy Philippart: nphilippart@troy.k12.mi.us
  • Board Secretary
    • Gary Hauff: ghauff@troy.k12.mi.us
  • Board Trustee
    • Paula Fleming: pfleming@troy.k12.mi.us
  • Board Trustee
    • Steve Gottlieb: sgottlieb@troy.k12.mi.us
  • Board Trustee
    • Elizabeth Hammond: ehammond@troy.k12.mi.us
  • Board Trustee
    • Dr. Nicole Wilson: nwilson@troy.k12.mi.us

About the Board

Troy is one of eight boards of education (out of 520) in Michigan to receive the prestigious Visionary Leadership Award from the Michigan Association of School Boards. MASB has also named the Troy Board one of 11 in Michigan to earn the Standard of Excellence award, and one of 16 to be named an Honor Board.

The Troy Board of Education has been named School Board of the Year for two years by ArtServe Michigan. The award honored the board for its outstanding support of the fine arts.

The Troy Board of Education is one of the top ten tech-savvy in the country, as named by the Center for Digital Education. 

Each member of the Board of Trustees serves a six year term.

Board Goals

  • To be a model of effective governance.
  • To partner with members of the TSD community in the support of public education.
  • To pursue information and training which enhance our policy-making ability.
  • To maintain our status as a Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB) Honor Board with all members certified.
  • To conduct an annual school board self-assessment
MASB-Board Visionary Leadership Award