Troy School District

Skip to main content

Troy School District Boasts 54 National Merit Semifinalists!

Fifty-four Troy School District students were named National Merit Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This honor is bestowed to less than one percent of students nationwide, based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT. About 1.5 million students take the PSAT every year. 


“We are extremely proud of our National Merit Semifinalists,” said Troy School District Superintendent Rich Machesky. “Their commitment to excellence and hard work has paid off. Their achievements are a shining example of what can be accomplished with a strong public school system, dedicated teachers and staff and supportive parents and community.” 


These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $31 million that will be offered next spring. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. Historically in Troy, the vast majority of semifinalists go on to win scholarships. 


The following students from Athens, Troy High and the International Academy East have earned the National Merit Semifinalist distinction:

ATHENS:  Jacob Beyer, Rishita Gudeti, Eric Ma

IA:  Naveen Abraham, Fatinah Albeez, Syed Daiyan, Zarin Farook, Krishna Gogineni, Aditi Hukerikar, Catherine Lu, Sanket Nayak, Nikhil Paruchuri, Ehani Patel, Charan Talwar, Jeanette Wang, Sami Zaidi, Eric Zhong

TROY HIGH:  Aadharsh Acharya, Priyal Bajaj, Michael Davis, Nathaniel Drasovean, Aaron Feng, Tiffany Guo, Kevin Huang, Sara Huang, Vijayashree Jambunathan, Sribbarat Koripella, David Kuang, Preethi Kumaran, Peizhi Liu, Raghav Maini, Marina Malyarenko, Iman Manzoor, Renuka Murthi, Yong Jin Nam, Marion Ni, Kulin Oak, Vasanth Palanisamy, Sisir Potluri, Finsam Samson, Srijani Sengupta, Prashant Shankar, Zenon Stepien, Hansen Wang, Matthew Wang, Yujie Wang, Kimberly Xing, Claire Yang, Matthew Yao, Jahow Yu, Hanchi Zhang, Jason Zhang, Frederick Zhao, Anagha Srivasta. Not pictured:  Kevin Huang


The Troy School District will hold a reception for the 54 semifinalists on Tuesday, October 30.Here are some photos of our students to be recognized:

Troy High Semifinalists Athens Semifinalists International Academy East semifinalists


National Merit Scholarship winners of 2019 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join some 338,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.


For more information on the National Merit Scholarship program, please visit their website at